Snow fallen

Standard

Snowflake to tongue tip, it tastes

of carbon in the air

Of losing face and fallen grace

And worry lost to care

And worry not, I’ve drifted

From here to over there

And I guess this geis has lifted

While I was unawares

But weary now, I’m listless

As my breath does freeze in puffs

Cold winter wind bears witness

To tears wiped froze to cuff

About Keats

Oh I'm sassy and I'm sexy, So silly sweet-and-sour Delightfully disastrous And deliciously dour I'm flippantly foolish, Filled I am with fear Can't concentrate completely, and my conduct isn't clear But to bravely be my best I Bring bravado back, BEHOLD!

18 responses »

    • Oh, I have a habit of falling off the edge of the world when I’m not looking… But I always manage to climb back on. Nice to be back, I must admit.

    • Thank you. This one was written in a rush while driving to the grocery store. I told my boyfriend to remember the words “Snowflakes and Carbon” because I had no means of writing any of it down. Thankfully, it didn’t escape my mind before I had means to capture it permanently.

    • Thank you. This is one of those pieces that flies into your head fully formed. I was caught unawares by it, and I was out without anything to write with (unusual for me). I was terrified it would fly back out of my head just as quickly as it came in. Thankfully, I was able to keep it in hand until I could write it down.

    • Well, as Lewis Caroll was one of the poets I read in my formative years (I could recite the Jabberwocky by the time I was 8), I’m not surprised a bit. It wasn’t on purpose, but neither is the Suess-ian sing-song that I tend to adopt from time to time.

    • Thank you, I’m very happy with it… And very glad he was there to log the words and remind me. I would have been rather upset if I’d lost the poem.

Leave a Reply

