Apollo Also Wept (companion piece to Artemis Also Loved)

Standard

What God would make Man of self?

Whose tireless toils would he shelf

Taking self from up on high,

Remove the Sun from fervent sky

Then set his face from rising day…

To whom would such a Man-God pray?

See yet, how empty, ringing hollow,

Is the smile of young Apollo

Who’s traced his path over the earth

To break his fast, each day since birth

As the glowing arch of Sun

His geis since he begun

Such a weight would buckle Atlas,

And as day creeps into the blackness

Slow down his cheeks the tracking’s crept-

 

 

This, along with the companion piece (Artemis also loved), is intended to have the “title” line follow the ending. Weird, I know. But it’s how it works with some of my pieces.

 

About Keats

Oh I'm sassy and I'm sexy, So silly sweet-and-sour Delightfully disastrous And deliciously dour I'm flippantly foolish, Filled I am with fear Can't concentrate completely, and my conduct isn't clear But to bravely be my best I Bring bravado back, BEHOLD!

2 responses »

    • I’m pleased with it. It mixes mythology a bit-giving Apollo the attributes of Helios, something that didn’t happen until Greek mythology was co-opted & translated into Latin… But I took licence to make the piece work.

Leave a Reply

