Artemis Also Loved

Standard

Artemis has stolen the arrows of Eros;

Having grown wearied & sullen by a virgin’s slow death

She has lain open flesh to her still beating breast

Surprised by the notion that her heart still has breath

And she breathes out a sigh of release

Who would have known in surrender is peace?

In protection of lack she had stabbed her own back

And leached herself dry nigh to bloodless

Denial of self to prove Love less;

She had made less of the love of her life

So, brandishing arrow to self like a knife

Artemis took breath & shoved

 

 

 

 

About Keats

Oh I'm sassy and I'm sexy, So silly sweet-and-sour Delightfully disastrous And deliciously dour I'm flippantly foolish, Filled I am with fear Can't concentrate completely, and my conduct isn't clear But to bravely be my best I Bring bravado back, BEHOLD!

4 responses »

  1. The visual playing through my head, in all honesty: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FOjdXSrtUxA
    But that said, I like. I let it play out several times in my head, then read it aloud. Personally, I think there’s a few pacing/rhythm concerns I’d at least question you about, but it may also be simply how I’m reading it. The visuals, however, are sharply thrust, the visage of that timeless hunter not overturned…but crisply twisted, leaving us with another side of immortal emotion.

    More, more, more!

      • I’m struggling with the “brother” piece. I know what I want to say with it, but it’s doing the same thing this one did, where I’m having to sift through the words that I DON’T want to find the ones that I do.

Leave a Reply

