Just askin

Standard

I don’t know what they told you, you can’t hide from yourself-it’s everyone else, that you can tell lies to. And I don’t really suppose you, have even thought this through, You just call it code blue, and then you do your damn-well best to follow through. Emergency protocol. Is that all? You have to show for judgment’s fall (and folly)? A badge on chest and duty’s call, revolves the door and sends you out to shout that you know what this world’s about. When you’ve only ever seen a teensy piece of it. The places that you’ve been could literally fit inside the edges of a thin dime laid flat against a State map. And you snap and react like I’ve burned you, like I didn’t just turn to my fellow man and say “Could ya lend a hand, see I got this plan, to help some others out”. That’s what this world’s about! No man is an Island. And I would rather take the high land and stand my ground, than to be tried and found… Guilty for lack of milk of human kindness. And it’s times like this that remind us that love and hope are timeless, and it’s the hope of love that keeps this world tied together. Whether you are rich or poor, you’re human and nothing more and nothing less than a miracle. And I peer at the world from over the rims of my rose tinted glasses, and the question I feel the need to ask is “Are you happy with yourself?”. 

6 responses »

  1. You know, if I could actually convince my mind to remember and cling to these beautiful lines: “And it’s times like this that remind us that love and hope are timeless, and it’s the hope of love that keeps this world tied together. Whether you are rich or poor, you’re human and nothing more and nothing less than a miracle” I’m pretty sure there would never be any reason to be down. But if I had to answer the question, in turn, I think we both know what my answer would be.

    The spoken word approach continues to impress, though: gotten yourself a coffee shop venue or any such thing as yet? Or started trying out before the video camera yet?

    • Yes. I’m doing an open mic on saturday. I think I’ll do this and one other piece. I’ve already got the spoken version of this one perfect. No solid plans as of yet for recording, but I do plan on it eventually and either just posting audio on the blog or perma linking to a Youtube channel or something. who knows. I’m putting my feelers out there, testing the waters. I feel trans-formative right now-like I’m turning into the person I’ve been reaching for. it’s been a hard go, but I think I’ve got it now.

Leave a Reply

