the plight of woman

Standard

You bend my finger back it seems

To caste the blame to fall on me

But fall on sword for cause to bleed

-I’ll set you right this time

So Nature made me finer formed

With curves you’re wanting to explore,

And claim them for your OWN? what’s more?

-You cannot take what’s mine

You’ll paw and press, I’ll push you off

And then resentingly you’ll scoff,

And never think you should have stopped

-My right to “No”: denied?

A better man would sure refrain

From loveless Love-lust power games

But such a man himself is strange

Often culled by force from tribe

So what’s a poor young girl to do

when HER “right to life” is oft eschewed

For nascent cells so violent brewed,

Whose presence hurts her mind?

I tell you what, she’ll go through hell

From blame, to shame, to silent spells

And distance from the flesh she dwells.

-The victim “serves” this crime

A critique of her clothes and hair

And the make-up that she often wears

-The breasts that make some people stare

By image, so defined

Then she’s labeled tease or whore

Thus titled now, she’s nothing more

Made Pariah  to abhore

Making falsehood out of fine

BUT

-It’s just her life, she just a girl

Living in this fucked-up world

Upon this hateful planet hurled

Her cause is yours-and mine.

About Keats

Oh I'm sassy and I'm sexy, So silly sweet-and-sour Delightfully disastrous And deliciously dour I'm flippantly foolish, Filled I am with fear Can't concentrate completely, and my conduct isn't clear But to bravely be my best I Bring bravado back, BEHOLD!

3 responses »

  1. I know, I know. We all hate when Kila gets preachy… But in light of recent legislature in my country, I’m feeling a little preachy. I thought all of this was covered already. *sigh* I’m just waiting for someone to try to reinstate women as chattel.

    • You’re not exactly the only one venting on the topic–or should be–Kila, so no need to fuss over what the rest of the world thinks if you get a bit preachy. We’re living through a time when a nice chunk of the country seems perfectly willing to reduce women, to take away battles hard-fought and hard-won, and somehow shrug it off as actually protecting freedoms. It’s a disgusting abuse of the system.

      • There’s just too much fucking disgusting bullshit happening. It’s gotten so transparent, but they’re still holding up the curtain like we can’t see through. Like it’s not OBVIOUS that we’re not being systematically divided in order for the richmotherfuckers in power to keep on being the richmotherfuckers who have all the power.

Leave a Reply

