Marigolds

Standard

In rocky ground and crowded crack,

Between the grassy rooted shafts

An upstart starts it’s fighting back

It knows this place is right

It isn’t very pretty yet;

This hardy stem from seeding’s get

But stemming forth, it will get there yet

In reaching for the light

It’s place of growth is burdensome,

In fact, it’s life is bothered some

By trodding heels and traffic’s throngs

But it won’t give up the fight

It didn’t choose its seeding place,

It has not means to itself displace,

But rooted firm to the spot it’s graced

It offers me insight

For rooted firm, still here I am

In tightened spaces, myself I’m crammed

And slammed into a grounding stand

I’m lifting self to rights

About Keats

Oh I'm sassy and I'm sexy, So silly sweet-and-sour Delightfully disastrous And deliciously dour I'm flippantly foolish, Filled I am with fear Can't concentrate completely, and my conduct isn't clear But to bravely be my best I Bring bravado back, BEHOLD!

Leave a Reply

