One for the lullaby

Standard

Rain Song

Standing in my nightdress

Alone and watching rain

Ignoring feet gone frozen

On a sodden stony pave

I’m feeling sort of restless

But I often feel that way

I lift my face and bless this

Giving end to tired day

I’m watching sky for lightning

And the rumble-deep refrain

Standing under moon that

Has just new begun to wane

About Keats

Oh I'm sassy and I'm sexy, So silly sweet-and-sour Delightfully disastrous And deliciously dour I'm flippantly foolish, Filled I am with fear Can't concentrate completely, and my conduct isn't clear But to bravely be my best I Bring bravado back, BEHOLD!

6 responses »

  1. Thunderstorms! Great! ANd nothing so sensual as a lady in a nighty. Great great great such wistfulness and power

    • I don’t always write, but when I do… It’s usually of something pretty normal, like getting ready for bed or standing and watching rain or somesuch.

      • Because that’s when the noise stops and I can feel the rhythm of living bumping around in my head. Taking a walk, doing the dishes, readying myself for bed… That’s when my brain has time to unfurl it’s day & makes sense of what has happened… And my words follow the rhythm of what I’m doing. I’m a very normal person with an extraordinary gift. I can put every day experiences and emotions into fathomable words and rhythm. That’s WHY I’m good. Because what I write is normal & identifiable.

Leave a Reply

