On the wind (OneShotWednesday)

Standard

Early spring is dawning

In the early morning

I can taste the Spring

Come waking slowly

Under Winter’s wing

Come shedding cowl

Snow’s mantle warms

Earth pushing upward

Young crocus forms

And greenly spiking

They speak of birth

Herald awakenings

-Good morning earth!

Good night old winter,

You’ve come to pass

Releasing bindings

Life’s come at last.

Submitted to OneStopPoetry for their One Shot Wednesday. Click on the link to to enjoy other fine poets (the implication there is that I’m a fine poet, too… like how I did that?) or maybe submit something of your own.

About Keats

Oh I'm sassy and I'm sexy, So silly sweet-and-sour Delightfully disastrous And deliciously dour I'm flippantly foolish, Filled I am with fear Can't concentrate completely, and my conduct isn't clear But to bravely be my best I Bring bravado back, BEHOLD!

9 responses »

  1. ah…it has warmed up nicely here…but been under a cool rain…we bounce back and forth between 30/40 degrees and 80…season of the sick…ready for the warmth…

    • The warmth will come soon enough… The raining helps the thaw… massages snow into mud… 🙂 I am so ready to start planting. my seedlings get started today.

  2. I stepped out the door this morning and paused a moment, just to breathe it in. It may pour rain tomorrow, and it may plummet by the weekend – who knows – but today, today is a beautiful thing. Would that every day were like it, I think I could find some manner of contentment. A lovely welcome to the spring, a wonderful wave to old winter, my friend…truly it is like a new dawn.

  3. “-Good morning earth!
    Good night old winter,
    You’ve come to pass
    Releasing bindings”

    Love how your poem builds to the end with the beginning flourish of new life. Also like your implication in your OSP mention. lol Many do that; few admit it 😉 IMO You are well within your right (and skill) to make that claim.

    • I really like the build… and I like leaving on a point or a positive note… Many of my poems work that way… I guess it (along with fairly strict meter and straightforward rhyming) is just part of my style. And I’m getting more self confidance in my ability to write… More respect for a talent that I’ve hidden away or downplayed (“my little poems”). I may not go down in the annals of history… But I have to admit I can turn out some pretty images here and there. 🙂

    • Our winter has been blustery and cold with very much snow (I don’t know how much/if you get it there)… I’m very ready for a thaw, very ready to begin planting things and watching/helping them grow. I love spring… So full of new growth and plans. 🙂

Leave a Reply

