One shot wednesday

Standard

Rose tinted

There are seeds beneath the snow and

I think they may be roses

I always just suppose that

There is a brighter side

It just may be the frozen

Land has simply chosen

To out wait the cold erosion

Of Winter’s chilly pride

Then spring and summer sunning

The ice to warm and running

All warm and green and stunning

Awake to yellow skies

Then laughing are the roses

Who cold beneath the snow have

Germinated slow and

Give thanks to be alive

 

 

wanna join in the poetry madness? http://onestoppoetry.com/ For all your poetry needs.

10 responses »

  1. As in people, life may slumber for a time, but it always returns, as vibrant and as joyous as ever. Mm, your poem makes me long for the spring though. I want the color back. Enough of snowpocalypse. I want the warmth. And I want to walk among nature again, and know content…

    • LOL… You know… the snow isn’t so bad. There are certain plants from temperate zones that will not germinate without being frozen first. If you try to grow them outside of their normal zones you HAVE to freeze them before they sprout… So this too has a purpose, Chris. and besides… It’s BEAUTIFUL.

  2. I read this one as an ode to life, but not without hidden meaning, and dormant suggestion. Laughing roses are a great great visual, and as always, enjoy your internal rhyming and poetic rhythmic sense.

    • *grins* everything I write has a hidden meaning or two. Wouldn’t be very fun for me without toying my words around a hidden subject that only myself (or very few people) get.

Leave a Reply

