Thread bare hanging

Standard

I am a bitter graceful wreck

I smiled at the noose tied loosely round my neck

So you kicked the chair and let it fly

And watched the joy bleed freely from my eyes

How can you say it’s better after all

Love’s lost conquered death upon this fall

Went trading lies and trading rings

And gave them back for brighter things

And now I’m here, and I’m hanging

And now I’m here, I’m just hanging

Hanging by a thread

So now I’m coldly left to ponder

Inert with listless love-dreams squandered

And I turn cheek towards your cold lips

A subtle mockery, take just one last kiss

Before you leave and let me dangle

Heavens hard to see from this angle

And I’m just here, and I’m hanging

Just left me here, with me hanging

Hanging by a thread

Leave a Reply

