Two on surviving

Standard

bearing down

Stalking in the daylight, weary burden of the sun

Shoulders wearing boulders of journeys just begun

And I know that I’m still living

Cause my head-it tells me so

Arrested chest-it’s still heaving

And blood is wont to flow

Oh Atlas has it easy, he only has the world

No frightless mouths speak easy to his heart that’s newly furled

And I know that I’m surviving

Cause my breath still makes the words

A mantra forever driving

Me forward in this world

 

I’m light

You are inclined to remind me that I’m still insane

And I find that that kind of reminder’s just blame

An excuse to refuse the truth of my eyes

The abuse of the fruits of the labors I try

But your every day power plays get old on this girl

And I wake to say that I’m much colder and curled

Round my heart broke apart, it’s a start that I say

It’s a lark in the dark, but you know I won’t stay

Here born from fear and it’s clear my mind’s sound

So I steer myself clear, and my feet hit the ground

Bare and I’m running and I’m gunning for free

Singing and sunning in the light that is me

About Keats

Oh I'm sassy and I'm sexy, So silly sweet-and-sour Delightfully disastrous And deliciously dour I'm flippantly foolish, Filled I am with fear Can't concentrate completely, and my conduct isn't clear But to bravely be my best I Bring bravado back, BEHOLD!

Leave a Reply

