I never sleep

Standard

been years

I’m still awake

It’s my most hated of times

Insomnia stakes

A darker claim to my mind

Travel landscapes

And what’s there to find?

There are no distractions

From living inside of my head.

So I lay out the tea

In lonely hopes that I calm

This burning sea

That is quietly shoring up qualms

But I’m stuck with me,

Desperate face pressed to palms,

There are no distractions

From living inside of my head.

What’s wrong with self

That I can never push it all out?

The demon that’s dealt

This poor need for me to break down and shout

I’m not ready to sleep yet,

It’s only two thirty…

 

Bed rocks

Paying for Paul

By robbing from Peter

And I never fall

I only dig deeper

But I’ve hit close to bed rock

And six feet, I’m under

And I know that the dead talk,

I can hear them all wonder

What is she doing here,

Why is the girl even breathing?

About Keats

Oh I'm sassy and I'm sexy, So silly sweet-and-sour Delightfully disastrous And deliciously dour I'm flippantly foolish, Filled I am with fear Can't concentrate completely, and my conduct isn't clear But to bravely be my best I Bring bravado back, BEHOLD!

4 responses »

  1. Insomnia must be awful. I know that sleep deprivation is torture.I think I have a cure. You should read lots ot poetry on these blogs and I guarantee you will fall into a drop dead sleep.ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ 🙂

    • Oh, I got to bed around 4:30 am… which is about normal for me. I’ve struggled with insomnia all of my life it seems, right now is a moderate time. Sometimes it gets so bad that I don’t sleep for days, right now I’m managing about 3-5 hours a night… not my best, but certainly not my worst. (worst ever was when I was a teen, was up for about 60+ hours, started hallucinating and everything *shudders*)

Leave a Reply

