Good morning!

Standard

Rise from the night

In the light of the morning

I stretch and I rise

massage sleep-locked tight muscles

And wipe sand from my eyes
Another night spent

Sleeping not nearly enough

And too much in dreaming

Of ghost-lover’s touch

I smile and yawn

As I laugh-greet the sun

Another night conquered

Another day won

I battle my own mind

For control over me

And will lives diurnal

Nocturnal leaves me

Sighing and writhing

Asleep in my bed

Sweating my dreams out,

Making love in my head

Make clock-work of me

My skin is too loose

My chest is too tight

I’m shortened of breath

And my head’s spinning light

I tremble and shake

From a hand to my thigh

A slow simple whimper

From a contact of eyes

Gasping and coiling

About my own mind

I’m ticking like clock-work

And my springs over wind

Can you see clearly

the sweat on my brow

From touch of the heat-core

You’ve so quietly found

But you make not a true-touch

Choosing instead

To bring rise to my passions

And dance in my head

Calling to you

Awakening passions

Lain dormant too long

While I sing-soft sweet practice

My Siren-ing song

Take care of the sharp-rocks

That I’m coaxing you to

Proceed please with caution,

Consult what you do

I ease breeze and laughter

To soothe out your fear

Obscuring a path that’s

Too deep to be clear

These are dangerous waters

I tread as you soar

Over waves into harbor

Crashing clean into shore

Too late comes the warning

The mind too far gone

To heed the advice and

Steer clear of night song

About Keats

Oh I'm sassy and I'm sexy, So silly sweet-and-sour Delightfully disastrous And deliciously dour I'm flippantly foolish, Filled I am with fear Can't concentrate completely, and my conduct isn't clear But to bravely be my best I Bring bravado back, BEHOLD!

6 responses »

  1. Stirring passion, rising lust…the first two poems themselves warm and invigorate with each progressing line. Sensory delight, not culminating in the expected burst of passion – instead delay, a pause, a gripping-waiting-hoping for reality to intercede. So like those elusive dreams…

    But the third – it stands in sharp opposition to the others, though it fits, as it seems to flow from them. The question remaining at the conclusion. No less potent, but a pull-back, a warning, a fear…but worry not. Steady yourself, steady the ship, if handled with care, they’ll reach the shore, they’ll see the light and be guided safely home again. Deep breaths, watchful eyes.

  2. *grins* you said it yourself Chris… Poets are a horny bunch… I’m glad I got the effect that I wanted, I wanted to convey a restlessness and yearning in the first two… and as for the third, well… More allusions from yours truly. I pull a lot of inspiration from ancient myth.

    • you’ll have to read fast to keep up with me… sometimes I’ll write several dozen in a day…. but other times I’ll go a few weeks without putting pen to paper or finger to keys.

  3. Hi there, I really like your poems. The language is so erotic but not obscene. I read them over three times and each time saw something new that I loved. I look forward to reading more of your work and it is very nice to meet you.

    I also like the theme of your blog.
    ~ C

    • Why thank you! I pride myself on my ability to stimulate the senses without startling the sensibilities, and I’m honored that you read them thrice. *grins* a re-read is always a good indicator that you did something right.

Leave a Reply

