All of these are untitled, the gaps indicate a change to a new poem

Standard

Dammit Delilah,

Don’t dare disturb

The strength of dear Samson,

The one who has cured

The happening hopeless

Rise of ennui

That has painted with gray

Over all that you see…

Saw you an answer in eyes-

Brown or green?

What floats behind hazel

As they close to dream?

 

I TOLD you that I’m wicked

I TOLD you that I’m wrong

But you think that I’m a saint and

Somehow locked-down strong

It’s sweet of you to say so,

And I really like your view

But I’ve lived with me my whole life,

And your theories just aren’t true.

 

 

Aren’t I just precious?

Oh aren’t I just grand?

And the thing that I like best is,

It’s me that I can’t stand.

Oh I’m always making trouble

For myself-it’s true…

And then quick-step on the double,

I shove it off on you.

And funny how you think I

Have some answer to provide.

A solution to a deep sigh,

And a bandage for your pride.

Oh aren’t I just darling?

Aren’t I just dear?

Intent I am on harming

A wounded heart-that’s clear.

 

 

Oh it’s bitter and it’s bloody

Best of all, it’s free

This distance that I’m selling:

The complicated me.

Oh I’m shiny and I’m sharpened

And I cut so clean, it’s sweet.

Oh I’m dissonance that’s dark and

I’m made from body heat.

About Keats

Oh I'm sassy and I'm sexy, So silly sweet-and-sour Delightfully disastrous And deliciously dour I'm flippantly foolish, Filled I am with fear Can't concentrate completely, and my conduct isn't clear But to bravely be my best I Bring bravado back, BEHOLD!

4 responses »

  1. A good start to the collection! Got some goodies here – biblical references to the first, strong rhymes to the third, the play on words of your self-descriptions. Dear, you’re certainly wicked, but one can be sweet, and still hold to the title…

    Also, I like that in searching this, wordpress told me that a possibly related post was simply “Stupid men.” Fantastic. Can’t buy that sort of publicity.

  2. Stupid men? lol, that’s just hilarious to me… And yeah, I love to use allusions in my work… the three A’s of poetry to me are Alliteration, Assonance and Allusions… very important to me.

  3. ha – that was a nice introduction kila…came over from chris’ place
    and regarding samson and delila – love makes blind..no?
    and love covers a lot of wickedness…smiles
    nice to meet you!

  4. Thank you very much Claudia… Chris has been pestering me to start up something like this since he found out that I write poetry… and I must admit, I’m already enjoying having a space specifically for my work. As for Samson and Delilah, I love using biblical and mythilogical references in my work, comparing them to real-life modern experiences… I feel it lends a familiarity to the audience, making them feel more attached to your work through the recognition… Which is always a good thing in a poet’s world. *grins* And I really am very wicked… But I’m loads of fun.

Leave a Reply

